Division of Social Science

Comprising the departments of African American and African Diaspora Studies, Anthropology, Economics, History, Political Science, and Sociology, and nearly thirty research institutes and centers, the Division of Social Science is steeped in a tradition of intellectual distinction and is today renowned for innovative social inquiry. Faculty study diverse, complex questions about human experience and the world, and engage in teaching and research that explores important issues of the past and present in local and global contexts.

Miguel Urquiola Photo
Miguel Urquiola
Dean of Social Science

Miguel Urquiola is Professor of Economics and of International and Public Affairs.


Conference Photo

Columbia University has a rich tradition of path-breaking social inquiry.

The Social Science Initiative will ensure the future of this legacy by bolstering divisional strengths in analytic and interpretive research and teaching, addressing grand challenges, and advancing new areas of scholarly distinction.