Academic Review Committee

There are at least five tenured faculty representatives from each of the three divisions, Humanities, Social Science, and Natural Science. The Executive Vice President appoints faculty representatives for Arts and Sciences, following consultation with Deans, the PPC, and the Executive Committee. The Executive Vice President for Arts and Sciences (EVPAS) and the Associate Vice President for Academic Planning serve ex officio. The Divisional Dean of Social Science administers the Academic Review Committee on behalf of the Executive Vice President.

The Academic Review Committee is charged with overseeing the periodic review of all departments, centers, and institutes in the Arts and Sciences. The principal functions of the review are to assess program quality and effectiveness, to foster planning and improvement, and to provide guidance for administrative decisions. The process provides an opportunity for critical self-review on a recurring basis and for reevaluating long-range planning assumptions and goals. By providing a means for reaching collective judgment on the strengths and weaknesses of a program, its comparative advantages, and its future opportunities and challenges, the review process contributes to achieving and maintaining the excellence of programs across the Arts and Sciences.


2023-2024 Committee Members

Kimuli Kasara, Associate Professor of Political Science

Amy Chazkel, Bernard Hirschhorn Associate Professor of Urban Studies

Adam Reich, Associate Professor of Sociology

Simon (Sok Bae) Lee, Professor of Economics

Diane Bodart, David Rosand Associate Professor of Italian Renaissance Art History

David Lurie, Associate Professor of East Asian Languages and Cultures

Tamar Lando, Associate Professor of Philosophy

Joseph Massad (outgoing chair), Professor of Middle Eastern, South Asian and African Studies

Alberto Medina, Professor of Latin American and Iberian Cultures

Sonya Dyhrman, Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences

Guy Sella, Professor of Biological Sciences

Abhay Pasupathy, Professor of Physics

Xavier Roy, Associate Professor of Chemistry

Janet Metcalfe (incoming chair), Professor of Psychology



For a printable version of the guidelines, visit this link, here.