Columbia University

Faculty of Arts and Sciences

Events & Announcements

Events & Announcements


Preeminance in Science:               Achievement Strategies

A report on the first eighteen months
of the science initiative and
the path forward over the next five years

October 1, 2014
5:00–7:00 p.m.
Remarks will begin at 5:30 p.m.

Rotunda, Low Memorial Library
535 West 116th Street
(between Broadway and Amsterdam Avenue)



Szabolcs Marka and 7 scientists and grad students in Physics among the recepients of a Breakthrough Prize honoring the discovery of gravitational waves.

Ruth DeFries in E3B has been named a University Professor.

Prof. Agueros in Astronomy awarded a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists

Prof. Campos in Chemistry is the recipient of an Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award.

Prof. Owen in Chemisrty awarded the 2016 ACS Award in Pure Chemistry.

Prof. Dean in Physics awarded a Packard Foundation Fellowship

Prof. Ostriker Receives the 2015 Gruber Prize in Cosmology 

The Arts & Sciences hosted  its second annual Faculty Distinction Reception, on Wednesday, Oct. 29, to celebrate faculty awards and honors received over the past academic year. The companion booklet produced for the event, lists all the faculty and their awards recognized that evening. The booklet below highlights all those faculty members in the science division that were honored.

Three Faculty Receive 2013 NIH High Risk-High Reward Research Awards

Two Columbia Professors Win Lasker Foundation Awards for Their Work in Biological Sciences