Columbia University

Faculty of Arts and Sciences


The Faculty of Arts and Sciences is comprised of faculty from five schools; two undergraduate schools, and three graduate schools listed below. 

Columbia College

Columbia College is a relatively small, coeducational, residential college situated in a large and complex university. It has had the best general education curriculum in the country for more than half a century.

School of General Studies

The School of General Studies of Columbia University is the finest liberal arts college in the United States created specifically for returning and nontraditional students seeking a rigorous, traditional, Ivy League undergraduate degree full or part time.

Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

One of the oldest and most distinguished graduate schools in the United States, the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences administers the education of graduate students in the humanities, natural sciences, and social sciences, and grants the Ph.D. for all divisions of Columbia University.

School of the Arts

The School of the Arts is an innovative graduate professional school with a tradition of risk-taking, grounded in a deeply intellectual Ivy League university and energized by our location in New York City--one of the great cultural capitals of the world.

School of Professional Studies

The School of Professional Studies (SPS) offers a best-in-class, industry-driven experience for students across the learning continuum--from high school to post retirement. SPS features a range of academically intensive programs, including competitive and interdisciplinary master’s degrees, executive education and certificate offerings, global pre-college programs, rigorous English language studies, and auditing of Columbia University courses through a robust lifelong learning platform.