Columbia University

Faculty of Arts and Sciences

Dean Search announced for the School of Continuing Education

With the announcement that School of Continuing Education Dean Kristine Billmyer would step down at the end of this year, there is a nation-wide search in progress to fill the position.

Once identified, the new dean will be charged with building high quality, innovative, and cross-disciplinary programs that build on Columbia's strengths and provides opportunities to reach new audiences in a timely and meaningful way.

The search committee is comprised of the following members:

David Madigan, Executive Vice President and Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences
Peter Awn, Dean, School of General Studies; Professor of Religion 
Sheena Iyengar, S. T. Lee Professor of Business
Robert Klitzman, Professor of Psychiatry (in Sociomedical Sciences)
Sharon Marcus, Dean for Humanities, Faculty of Arts and Sciences; Orlando Harriman Professor of English 
Janet A. Metcalfe, Professor of Psychology 
Alondra R Nelson, Dean for Social Science, Faculty of Arts and Sciences; Professor of Sociology and Gender Studies
David K. Park, Dean of Strategic Initiatives 
Noor S. Rajah, Interim Executive Vice Dean; Lecturer in Continuing Education 
Venkat Venkatasubramanian, Samuel Ruben-Peter G. Viele Professor of Engineering